top of page
Untitled design (13).png

On February 28, 1969, an interested group of Alpha Kappa Alpha women living in the Colorado Springs community, met for the purpose of establishing a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. in the city of Colorado Springs, Colorado.

On November 14, 1970, after several months of planning and carrying out worthwhile activities, Iota Beta Omega was chartered. Jewel Freeman, Mid-Western Regional Director, presided over the ceremony held at the Broadmoor Hotel. After the chartering ceremony, Iota Beta Omega Chapter officers were elected.



Those elected as chapter officers were: Vivian Arnold, President, Virginia Dews, Vice-President, Johnnie Martin, Secretary, Emma Lee Phoenix, Assistant Secretary, Marilyn Thomas, Treasurer, and Sophie Willie, Ivy Leaf Reporter.

Charter Members - The Visionaries

Vivian A. Arnold*

Raella Brown

Wilma Campbell

Virginia Dews*

Ecra Hill*

Minnie Ray Hunter

Lillian Mallory

Johnnie R. Martin*

Mattie Murray

Emma Lee Phoenix*

W. Juanita Roberts

Doris Shannon

Florence Simmons*

Marilyn Thompson


Sophia Willie

Chapter Presidents - The Foundations of Leadership

Vivian A. Arnold*

Lillian Mallory

Mary Smith

Betty Chambers

Johnnie Martin*

Bessie Dowdell

Angela Stevens

Essie M. Bell*

Whaletha Cullins*

Mildred Guy*

Carolyn Williams

Gloria Johnson

Danielle Summerville

SiMona L. Johnson        

Emma Lee Phoenix*

Portia Vaughn*

Stephanie Gant*

Regina Baker


Tammy Pritchett

Pandora Osler

Sophie C. Sims

The 1972 Initiates - The Trailblazers

Athenia M. Bailey

Whaleta Cullins*

Mildred Guy*

Carolyn Hunter


Virginia Fields

* deceased

bottom of page